Chatbox
    You don't have permission to chat.
    Load More
Guest forbidden to read a book

Forbidden to Read A Book

7 posts in this topic

So my mom came in my room this morning, looking for something. And she saw "Save Haven" on my desk and started lecturing me about borrowing books and stuff. 
My parents want me to read ONLY MY TEXTBOOKS while I'm a flipping student. 
It INFURIATES me! I can't even borrow a book from the library, and when I do, I have to be secretive about it!

I am! I am taking a class in American Literature. And my mom wants me TO READ ONLY THE TEXTBOOK FOR THAT CLASS (and my textbooks for History of California)--nothing else. No novels, no nothing.

By the way, I signed in as a guest this morning because I was on a different computer, and for the life of me, I couldn't remember my password (which is saved on my own computer).

Are your grades poor or do you have a bad history of not finishing assignments? Are you keeping up with your class? Really what you read outside of class is nobody's business but your own, but I assume your mother just wants you to do well.

According to your profile you are 27. Tell your mother that you can't complete your courses with only reading text books. Be polite, but to the point. 

If she continues to suggest/insist that you not read other literature, Tell her in no uncertain terms that you will continue to read other books.